BUTTE COUNTY JOINT SCHOOL DISTRICT #111 REGULAR BOARD MEETING Monday, October 15, 2018 BMS/BHS Library - Arco, Idaho

6:30 p.m. Budget Update.

At 7:00 p.m. Chairman Sharese Maynard called the regular session to order. Trustee Karen Pyron, Trustee Barbara Andersen, Trustee Jaymon Knight, Trustee Zac Bowhay and Superintendent Joel Wilson were present. Chairman Maynard invited all to join her in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Trustee Andersen moved to accept the agenda. Seconded by Trustee Bowhay. Motion approved. Trustee Bowhay moved to accept the consent agenda. Seconded by Trustee Pyron. Motion approved.

New hires consist of Radley Gamett, Boys Basketball Head Coach; Kent Cummins, Boys Basketball Assistant Coach; Heather Martin, substitute, and Cyrstal Reynolds, substitute.

BEA representative, Patricia King, congratulated the sports teams on their successes. An Astronomy Night is planned for November 14, 2018, from 6:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m., where the elementary gym will be converted into a Planetarium. Veteran's Day is November 8, 2018. K.J. Babcock will give a presentation on a flag retirement ceremony. Appreciation was extended for all the recent improvements in the schools.

Principal Chambers reported on the successes of the middle/high school sports teams. The sixth grade class enjoyed the Conservation Field Trip. The Safe and Drug Free Schools were responsible for the new street signs along with a Computer Cyber Security Safety presentation planned during Red Ribbon Week. Policy 2725 STEM Diplomas were discussed. There is a video on the State page explaining the requirements. Trustee Maynard informed all of the ISBA training concerning extra certified programs.

Assistant Principal Chad Angell reported that the three new teachers in the elementary, Jessica Molyneux, Catrina Duke and Nykole Wheeler are doing great. There will be a Fall Music Concert for the elementary students on Wednesday, October 24, 2018, at 9:30 a.m. The IRI Station training is going well with Sheila Wood, Donna Hansen and Debbie Beverly. There is great collaboration happening with the elementary teachers at their Wednesday night math sessions. It was mentioned that some of the teachers were involved in the Pocatello Scratch Ticket event.

Superintendent Wilson reported that there are three teachers on alternate routes to certification. Two of these teachers are valid with one teacher being expired. Further paperwork is necessary. The Facility Committee, Jaymon Knight, Don Mays, and Joel Wilson, met to discuss the inside and outside doors, the tinting on the windows and tree removal at the Howe Elementary building. Options for the repair or renewal of the leaky roof were discussed. The enrollment in Howe Elementary is two Kindergartners, four first graders, three second graders, three third graders (attending Arco Elementary), eight fourth graders and five fifth graders.

Business Manager, Jodi Wasylow reported that the budget revenue is at a normal percentage. ICE reporting and SPED issues were discussed. Funding was also discussed along with renewing levies coming up. The school board will need to come up with totals for the levie amounts needed at the December board meeting. Those attending the ISBA Convention will be Chairman Sharese Maynard, Trustee Barbara Andersen and Trustee Karen Pyron.

There will be a Safety Committee meeting, Tuesday, October 23, 2018, at 4:30 to discuss the details of having a Resource Officer in the schools.

Trustee Pyron gave an update on the CIP plan and offered the boards help in anyway possible.

The next school board meeting will be held on Monday, November 26, 2018, at the Howe Elementary School.

Trustee Andersen moved to accept Radley Gamett as Head Coach of the boys basketball team, Kent Cummins as Assistant Coach of the Boys Basketball team; Heather Martin and Crystal Reynolds as substitutes. Seconded by Trustee Knight. Motion approved.

Trustee Pyron moved to accept the Policy 2725 STEM diploma. Seconded by Trustee Bowhay. Motion approved.

Trustee Bowhay moved to adjourn. Seconded by Trustee Andersen. Motion approved.

Chairman, Sharese Maynard	Date
Board Clerk, Tauna Brewer	Date